RUEN
2019 Interactive Sustainability Report

Sustainable development context

Energy is a key source of achievement of the UN's social and economic Sustainable Development Goals.

The company is one of the leaders in the fuel and energy complex of the Russian Federation and is aware of the nature and scale of the impact of its activities, correlates them with the importance of rational use of natural resources, ensuring safe working conditions, protecting the health of personnel employed in all business segments and the population living in the regions activities of TATNEFT Group organizations, as well as preservation of a favorable environment and reduction of climate risks.

Tatneft takes into account the fundamental factors of development - the expectation of about 25% growth in global energy demand by 2040 with the preservation of the importance of hydrocarbon resources with a change in the energy balance towards less carbon-intensive fuels and the development of new economically viable energy sources, the development of oil and gas processing and petrochemicals with a high level of environmental planning. These factors influence the global economy and the oil and gas industry, shaping the transition to a new energy infrastructure. 

The World Economic Forum's 2020 Global Risks Report (https://www.weforum.org/reports/the-global-risks-report-2020), published in January 2020, identifies the global complex challenges for economic , ecological and social systems requiring measures to ensure sustainable development. The report points to the need for policymakers to align their goals to protect the Earth with those tostimulate the economy, and for companies to avoid the risk of potentially catastrophic losses in the future by adjusting for evidence-based targets.

Attention is focused on five major global risks related to the environment:

  • Extreme weather events with serious material damage, infrastructure and loss of life.
  • Failure of government and business to take action to mitigate and adapt to climate change.
  • Man-made environmental damage and disasters, including environmental crimes such as oil spills and radioactive contamination.
  • Substantial loss of biodiversity and collapse of ecosystems (terrestrial or marine) with irreversible consequences for the environment, as a result of which the resources of humanity and industry are severely depleted.
  • Major natural disasters such as earthquakes, tsunamis, volcanic eruptions and geomagnetic storms.

The report focuses on the impact of growing inequalities, technology governance gaps and pressures on health systems.

"In 2020, world leaders must work with all sectors of society to rebuild and revitalize our collaborative systems, not only for short-term gain, but also to address our deep-seated risks."

Børge Brende
PresidentWorld Economic Forum

The Global Risk Report is part of the Global Risk Initiative, which brings together stakeholders to develop sustainable, integrated solutions to the world's most pressing problems.

“Investors, regulators, customers and employees are putting increasing pressure on companies to demonstrate their resilience to growing climate variability. Scientific advances mean climate risks can now be modeled more accurately and incorporated into risk management and business plans at the same time they also face significant geopolitical and cyber risk challenges. ”

John Drzik
 Chairman of Marsh & McLennan Insights

RUEN
ИНТЕРАКТИВНЫЙ ОТЧЕТ В ОБЛАСТИ УСТОЙЧИВОГО РАЗВИТИЯ ЗА 2019 ГОД

Контекст устойчивого развития

Энергия – ключевой источник достижения социальных и экономических Целей устойчивого развития ООН.

Компания является одним из лидеров топливно-энергетического комплекса Российской Федерации и осознаёт характер и масштабы влияния своей деятельности, соотносит их со значимостью рационального использования природных ресурсов, обеспечения безопасных условий труда, защиты здоровья персонала, занятого во всех бизнес-сегментах и населения, проживающего в районах деятельности организаций Группы «Татнефть», а также сохранения благоприятной окружающей среды и снижения климатических рисков.

Татнефть учитывает фундаментальные факторы развития — ожидание примерно 25% роста мирового энергетического спроса к 2040 году с сохранением значимости углеводородных ресурсов с изменением энергетического баланса в сторону менее углеродоемких видов топлива и освоения новых экономически целесообразных источников энергоносителей, развития нефтегазопереработки и нефтехимии с высоким уровнем природоохранного планирования. Данные факторы влияют на глобальную экономику и нефтегазовую отрасль, формируя переход к новой энергетической инфраструктуре.

Отчет Всемирного экономического форума о глобальных рисках за 2020 год / Global Risks Report 2020, опубликованный в январе 2020 года определяет глобальные комплексные вызовы для экономических, экологических и социальных систем, требующих мер по обеспечению устойчивого развития.  Отчет указывает на необходимость для политиков согласовывать цели по защите Земли с целями по стимулированию экономики, а компаниям - избегать рисков потенциально катастрофических потерь в будущем за счет корректировок с учетом научно- обоснованных целей.

Внимание акцентировано на пяти основных глобальных рисках, относящихся к окружающей среде:

  • Экстремальные погодные явления с серьезным материальным ущербом, инфраструктурой и человеческими жертвами.
  • Неспособность правительства и бизнеса принять меры по смягчению последствий изменения климата и адаптации к ним.
  • Антропогенный ущерб окружающей среде и бедствия, включая экологические преступления, такие как разливы нефти и радиоактивное загрязнение.
  • Существенная утрата биоразнообразия и коллапс экосистем (наземных или морских) с необратимыми последствиями для окружающей среды, в результате чего ресурсы человечества и промышленности сильно истощаются.
  • Крупные стихийные бедствия, такие как землетрясения, цунами, извержения вулканов и геомагнитные бури.

 В отчете особое внимание уделяется последствиям растущего неравенства, пробелов в управлении технологиями и оказанию давления на системы здравоохранения.

 «В 2020 году мировые лидеры должны работать со всеми слоями общества, чтобы восстановить и активизировать наши системы сотрудничества не только для краткосрочной выгоды, но и для решения наших глубоко укоренившихся рисков»

Борге Бренде
Президент Всемирного экономического форума

Отчет о глобальных рисках является частью Инициативы по глобальным рискам, которая объединяет заинтересованные стороны для разработки устойчивых комплексных решений наиболее насущных проблем мира.

«Инвесторы, регулирующие органы, клиенты и сотрудники оказывают растущее давление на компании, чтобы они продемонстрировали свою устойчивость к растущей изменчивости климата. Научные достижения означают, что климатические риски теперь можно моделировать с большей точностью и включать в управление рисками и бизнес-планы в то же время, когда они также сталкиваются с серьезными проблемами геополитического и киберрискового риска».

Джон Дрзик
Председатель Marsh & McLennan Insights